USA: Fun Facts About Hawaii

I love Hawaii. I have been fortunate to travel there seven times, due to my uncle living there with his wife. Over the years I’ve learned more and more about the islands, and so I’ve compiled some “fun facts” about Hawaii. 

#1: Hawaii (as well as Arizona) do not observe Daylight Savings Time. 

#2: Besides English, the Hawaiian language is also an official language

#3: Despite Hawaiian being an official language, there are only about 2,000 native speakers

#4: The island of Ni’ihau is off-limits to tourists, as only native Hawaiians live there. However, once a resident leaves, they can never return to the island.

#5: There are eight main islands of Hawaii

#6: Queen Liliuokalani was the last monarch of Hawaii, before it became the 50th U.S. State.

#7: In 1993, President Bill Clinton signed the “Apology Resolution“, a formal apology to the Hawaiian people for overthrowing the kingdom. 

#8: There are only 12 letters in the Hawaiian alphabet. (A E H I K L M N O P U W) 

#9: The state bird is the Nene, the Hawaiian Goose.

#10: The highest point on the Hawaiian islands is Mauna Kea, a dormant volcano.

Those are all the facts that I have for today, there may be a part two, but I’m not quite sure yet. I had a wonderful time in Hawaii, and I’ll share more of my experiences there.

Happy travels! 

3 thoughts on “USA: Fun Facts About Hawaii

    1. It’s off limits because its supposed to preserve the natural beauty of Hawaii and the Hawaiian culture. All residents (with possible exceptions) are native Hawaiian and supposedly participate in the ancient Hawaiian traditions.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s